Weather in Nagpur: Dispelling the misconceptions

Note: Fahrenheit is used throughout this post. C=(5/9)F-32

Hot.

It’s a word I’ve heard used to describe the weather in India by dozens of people I’ve talked with as they prepare me for this year. The more I heard that word, the more anxious I became about my year abroad.

See, I’m the kind of person that thrives in cold weather. I’m comfortable in shorts in 40 degree weather. I wore no more than two layers of clothes all winter. On February days as my classmates would hurry back to school from P.E. in the freezing air, I’d enjoy the frosty breeze in a t-shirt, arms outstretched.

My teachers have chastised me for not wearing a coat. My friends know me as a “polar bear”. My grandma won’t let me out the door between October and March unless I’m wearing a thick cotton-stuffed coat – or two. (Love you grandma! :))

In short, I get along much better with cold weather than seems normal for, you know, a human being.

One day in May I went online and checked the weather in Nagpur from an ocean and a half away and saw it was 88 degrees. ‘Not too bad,’ I thought. Until I realized that while the sun was high in my location, it was pitch black – the middle of the night – in Nagpur.

‘I wonder how hot it is during the day,’ I wondered. I clicked.

116 degrees Fahrenheit.

And I, of all people, would be spending 11 months in that?

But I did a little more research on my own. The average temperature in Nagpur is about 92 degrees – certainly not cool, but quite tolerable. Whereas the hottest months in the U.S. are June, July and August, India’s temperatures are at their peak in April, May and June. That 116, then, was much more an outlier than the norm.

Average Monthly Temperatures

The temperatures in Nagpur are actually far more constant than those in Champaign. For eight months, the average high temperature remains between 83 and 91 (all in which I’ll be there). In fact, in July and August, the temperatures in Champaign and Nagpur are quite similar.

And of course, you can’t forget about the monsoons.

Average Monthly Precipitation

That huge spike you see in Nagpur’s precipitation is because of the annual monsoons. Each year, from June to September, the subcontinent is cooled off by the humid air from the Indian Ocean. 80 percent of India’s precipitation occurs during this season.

Basically, the monsoons make the thunderstorm that passed through Champaign this afternoon seem weak. Three inches of rain a month? Pshaw. The 10-day weather forecast for Nagpur reads “Scattered T-Storms” for the next ten days.

Here’s one way of comparing the two cities: Champaign has stable amounts of precipitation, but widely varying temperatures. Nagpur has relatively stable temperatures, but widely varying amounts of precipitation. It will be hot, but I’ll be able to adapt.

I’m pretty sure I won’t be packing a coat.

🙂

Facebook Facebook Twitter Retweet Delicious Delicious Stumbleupon Stumbleupon Digg Digg Reddit Reddit

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Weather in Nagpur: Dispelling the misconceptions”

  1. John Says:

    Not even a rain coat? 🙂

  2. p yoder Says:

    Driving in the rain: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywz5kpXVY00

    Driving on dry roads: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQ3vUafD7jY

    Both are challenging.

Leave a Reply

